Saturday, June 22, 2013

Vengeance (Dissidence Book 2) by Jamie Canosa ~ #Giveaway for Book tour

By Jamie Canosa

In dystopian America, sixteen-year-old Kaleigh finds out quickly what having a big mouth and not enough brains to keep it shut can earn you. A one-way ticket to the work camps that no one even knows exists.
Nuclear war has ravished the nation, and a century later, the survivors are living in an entirely new world. In a society where everything is decided for you, from where you work to who you marry, dissidence is not taken lightly.
But, even inside the camps, Kaleigh’s fiery spirit refuses to be extinguished. In a single moment of defiance, she manages to spark a riot that ignites into a full-blown rebellion.
With growing numbers counting on her, not just for their freedom, but for their very lives, two different boys vying for her heart, and trouble brewing from within the camp itself, can Kaleigh find a way to step up and become the leader everyone is counting on her to be, or will even the most carefully laid plans come crashing down around her?

My Review for Dissidence 

5 out of 5 BIG stars from me!

I see this amazing dystopian to be the next big thing. Fans of Divergent and Hunger Games will fall in love with this book!  I will say, the ending will absolutely shake you to your core! There better be another book, or I will be very upset! This book was all sorts of amazing, and I am still in shock!

This book is told from the perspective of a young girl, just turning 16, who is very opinioned, and really does not like the strict rules of the ‘Security’ of this aftermath of war. This book is like a mix of the ‘factions’ type in Divergence, and Hunger Games mixed. Except with this one, if a person if found to protest against the officials of this world are punished, in other words if they are ‘dissidence’.  They are sent to what is called ‘work camps’, in other words prison, but have to work your butt off, and they are violent in making you do your part, getting punched in the face for not wielding a pick axe well enough warrants this.

It was full of action, non-stop just about, and the main character Kaleigh, is someone I was easily able to connect with. I enjoyed her easy friendship with Peter, and how she risked so much to help him. I really liked Conner a lot, and really though Kaleigh and Conner would have been a great couple. I loved how he called her “Girlie”, it was cute.

I do not want to spoil anything, so won’t say much. But I will say, I had about the same reaction to the ending of Insurgent, that I just had to this one, but won’t say why, lol.
Well written, and a great original idea. I am very pleased with the writing and the style of it, as well as the story as a whole.

I highly recommend this book to all ages. It’s intense, exciting, emotional, and has its funny parts too.

I was provided a complimentary ARC copy of this book from the author, for my honest review. This is that honest review.

Here is a few teasers below for you in varios spots in the book, none spoiler.:
Even before I heard the lock slide into place, I knew something was wrong. The lock . . . on the outside of the door.I threw myself across the small room, and yanked on the door knob until my hand cramped, but it refused to budge. I was trapped.

And here is another:

“So, everyone here is a prisoner?” I’m suddenly wondering what exactly it was that got them all sent here.“I guess so, since having an opinion is against the law.” Lori shakes her head again, and this time, the disgust is genuine.So, they’re all guilty of having a big mouth and not enough brains to keep it shut, just like me, or what did they call it… dissidence? At least I know my new best friends aren’t some kind of axe murderers or anything.“Did you have a trial then?” I blurt out the first question I think of, knowing there are about a million more piled up behind it just waiting to rush out. I need to get as much information out of these two as I can while they’re talking to me.“A trial,” Connor scoffs, “yeah, I had one of those. Everyone did. You can’t just lock people up and throw away the key without a trial. That would be unjustified.” The sarcasm’s back, but this time it’s tinged with anger.

 And another that i love:

He rolls over in his sleep, completely uncovering himself. He’s laying there beside me in nothing more than a pair of black boxers. Oh, wow! Without a shirt on, his muscular form is even more remarkable. Connor is ripped, but not in a scary meathead way. In a very . . . impressive way. His light hair is flopped over his forehead and partially covering his eyes. I have the sudden urge to brush it back, and shake myself, realizing I’ve been staring far too long. Who stares at people while they’re sleeping, seriously?

Read the first 8 chapters below, Free, you can make it full screen for ease of reading. Hope you enjoy, this book is great.

Dissidence Excerpt
Buy At Smashwords in any ebook Format you need.

Buy at Barnes and Noble

Dissidence Dissidence

Author Bio:

Jamie Canosa is a full time author of YA literature, which she absolutely loves. When she’s not writing or spending time with her family, she can usually be found with her nose in a book. She currently resides in Ravena, NY with her wonderful husband and three crazy kids . . . plus the dog, the bird and the rabbit.Her debut novel, Dissidence, was published in 2012 along with several novellas, including ‘Temptation’, the first in her Heart and Soul mini-series, and her contemporary NA romance, Fight or Flight.
She currently has several projects in the works. Another (spin-off) contemporary NA romance, Sink or Swim, coming in July, the fourth and final installment of the Heart and Soul series coming in August, and the sequel to Fight or Flight, entitled Now or Never due out this fall.

Author links:

Vengeance (Dissidence Book 2)
By Jamie Canosa

Links for Vengence


Things aren’t always as they seem. In fact, in a world of secrets and lies, almost nothing ever is. But, Kaleigh made her choices and now she has to live with the consequences. 
Haunted by her guilt, Kaleigh is forced to question everything she thought she knew. From friends and foes, to loyalty and love, she’s quickly losing faith in herself and those around her. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Review for Vengeance (Dissidence Book 2)

Wow, this  knocked my socks off, lol. I love this dystopoian series. This 2nd book does not disappoint at all. I was leary for awhile as so many dystopia books came out after the Divergent hype, but this was a good one. It has a bit of a Divergent feel with some Hunger Games (without the game to death that is) with the divided “camps” were similar to the 12 different areas in Hunger Games, but that is where the similarities ended. I loved the fresh new take on the dystopian story.

For this 2nd book, I do not even know where to begin, as I loved this book so much, but was disappointed and sad about a loss to a main character from the first book. So sad, and usually we do not lose the main characters, so this was a huge blow for me.

I loved seeing how Kayleigh has grown up a lot since book one. I still do not understand why people seen her as a leader and someone to follow, to me she was pretty immature, but she did grow on me.

I still loved Conner, he was my favorite in book one, and continued to be my guy of choice in this book.

Here is a funny scene for you:

“Me carrying a gun would be a waste of bullets,” I admit.“You don’t always have to pull the trigger. A lot of times, just having the weapon can defuse a situation.”“Not when it’s common knowledge that I can’t hit the broad side of a barn.”

Here is another favorite sweet scene:

Before I can overthink it to death, I push up on my toes and press my lips to his. He freezes for a second, but only a second. When his arm wraps around my waist and he kisses me back, the ferocity of it sends me reeling. His free hand finds its way into my hair as his fingers press against the bare skin exposed around my middle from stretching my body far enough to reach his mouth. His tongue swoops inside and suddenly the saying ‘weak in the knees’ makes perfect sense to me.

There is a ton of action in this book too. We have many witty fun parts as well.

It’s a fun fast action packed read. I highly recommend this series. If you do like the dystopian type books, like Hunger Games and Divergent, then you will love this too.

5 out of 5 stars for me.


Post a Comment